top of page
Search

Coming Soon Poster

The first task, designing a “coming soon” movie poster to spread awareness and introduce my thesis. I knew from the early stages of schematic design, I wanted the poster to draw awareness to homelessness in memorable and impactful way. The idea was to use the physical architecture of homelessness, a cardboard box. Instead of simply printing a poster I decided to challenge my self and try something new. The idea was to use the cardboard box as the background for the poster, while delivering graphics with a vinyl cutter, a similar process to what homeless people might do while creating a sign. The process was time consuming, especially the tiny little letters...However, through prototyping and trial and error, I was able to learn new skills, and ended up with a product that I am very pleased with.



To finish the poster I planned to rip and damage the box to make it appear more authentic; however, after spending all that time, I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Maybe another day...



Ultimately, I enjoyed taking the extra steps to create the poster, and I believe it has led to a more impactful project, raising awareness to homeless individuals. Along with other thesis work, this poster can be found in the hallway of the Architecture and Design department on the Alfred State campus.

bottom of page